Posted by: Scott | May 23, 2011

Getting Started

We’re all familiar with getting started. We start some things over and over again, such as our workday. Others happen just once. This website is a good example of the latter.

I started it because I felt the time was right and my stories were ready to face the world. So here I am.

Introductions are a good way to get started, and now is as good a time as any.

My writing career is still relatively young, having started in 2006, although I’ve been creatively inclined since I was a child. Back then, painting quenched my artistic thirst. Landscapes, portraits, still lifes. It didn’t matter. The act of creating gave me a high I could get nowhere else. It soothed and thrilled me at the same time.

However, life has a way of distracting us, and mine was no exception. College, a career, and a wonderful marriage all kept me happily occupied until I reached my forties. Then, my long ignored creativity demanded a spark. I went back to my old avenue, painting, but the strangest thing happened.

Nothing.

An easel, a few canvases and a couple hundred dollars worth of paints did nothing. Seeing I was stymied, fate lent a hand.

A co-worker was trying her hand at writing what I later learned were called historical romances. She asked me to read the few pages she typed. I did, and the epiphany hit like a ton of bricks.

Writing. Never mind that I hadn’t written anything since college, more than twenty ago prior. And certainly nothing for my enjoyment. Yet somehow I knew.

There two old loves met. My love for happy endings and my love for “what if” scenarios united, and the rest as they say is history.

Responses

  1. Loved the interview!!!! I found the vet captured true feelings behind the man from NC. I love this character and think she is just ripper.


Leave a Reply

Categories

